Lakewood Museum Is Now Open!

Posted on October 26, 2021 By

Dr. Stan Liptzin, president of the Lakewood Historical Society, announced that the Sheldon Wolpin Lakewood Historical Museum, 500 Country Club Drive (off County Line Road) in Pine Park is now open to the public Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Docents are available to give guided tours of the museum and all displays.

Face masks are required. Although there is no charge to visit the museum, financial donations are gladly accepted. The Township Committee, Lakewood publics works, and the Inspection Department have been especially supportive. Many present and former Lakewood residents have given financial support as well as goods and services.

About the Sheldon Wolpin Historical Museum:
Kuser Hall, the last remaining building of five that made up the Newman School, an exclusive preparatory boarding school for boys, closed in 1942. The building, which the township acquired in 1964 through Green Acres Funding, was the math and science center of the school.

Through the volunteer efforts of members in the Historical Society and the Heritage Commission, Kuser Hall has been transformed into a showcase, featuring Lakewood memorabilia and artifacts. The Township gave both groups a long-term lease in 2012 and it has taken four years to create six galleries on the first floor and a main hallway, depicting scenes of “old” Lakewood.

Some of the renovations include power washing and painting the building; installing handicap ramps, interior and exterior lighting, a security system, and restroom facilities; and replacing 550 plus panes of glass. A fountain from 1881 originally commissioned by a group of Lakewood residents was moved from Clifton Avenue to the front of the museum. The museum also boasts a mono-wing airplane in the southeastern outside corner of the building as part of some hands-on exhibits.

The Ocean County Society of Model Railroaders has relocated from downtown Lakewood to the lower level of the museum where members have built exhibits, one for O Gauge and the other of HO Gauge model trains.